Home > HS Project > Its time to start HS Project

Its time to start HS Project

Some time ago I bought Neoware client. The main reason to do that was create light power consumption server in my home. I have added a sata controller on PCI, covers for sata hdd, two fans powered from usb and A4tech webcam connected to usb. There is 250Gb sata drive inside with Debian 6.0 as a OS.

HS Project* looks prety nice in my wardrob🙂

For now there is only few useful services:

– minidlna, for pictures/movies sharing over my home network (for TV)

– motion, for motion detection from webcam.  It record everyone who came to my flat.

– openvpn, for access my server from outside.

In the future I plan to create a thermometer based on DS1820 (1-wire). It will check temp from 4 receivers  (two inside and two outside) every some time and log it to mysql database. I hope I will get some nice graphs with it:)

Also there is a idea to move cam outside the door to see whats happen on staircase.

*HS Project – Home Server Project

Categories: HS Project
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

